UWI Distinguished Alumni Awards

Event Date(s): 20/02/2014

Location: Teaching and Learning Complex

Sir Edwin Carrington, former CARICOM Secretary- General and former Editor-in-Chief of the Express, Sunity Maharaj are among 25 Distinguished UWI Graduates to be honoured on Thursday February 20, at The UWI Alumni Association Trinidad and Tobago Chapter (UWIAATT) Distinguished Awards. This awards ceremony will commemorate the association’s 25th Anniversary and will be held at The UWI’s new Teaching and Learning Complex from 6pm.  

The awardees were selected from nominations received by a bi – partisan committee of Campus academic staff and the UWIAATT based on their outstanding contributions to their chosen fields, and to wider society. The 25 awardees are seen as an excellent example of the leading professionals and personalities that have studied at The UWI. For his distinguished service to the Caribbean, Sir Edwin will be specially recognised with the award of the Pelican Award, the Alumni Association’s highest Peer award, first conferred in Jamaica in 1967.  

The full listing of awardees is as follows:

1.      Charles Percy

2.      Victor Coombs

3.      Khalid Hassanali

4.      Dawn Thomas

5.      Rubadiri Victor

6.      Toni Sirju-Ramnarine

7.      Giselle Thompson-Pinard

8.      Anna Maria Garcia-Brooks

9.      Kizzie Ruiz

10.  Alison Lewis

11.  Hannibal Najjar

12.  Robert Riley

13.  Sunity Maharaj

14.  Dr. Ronald Ramkissoon

15.  Dr Shelton Nichols

16.  Dr Carla Noel-Mendez

17.  Dana Seetahal

18.  Gerry Brooks

19.  Ian Chinapoo

20.  Dr. Floyd Homer

21.  Mary Kwailan La Borde

22.  Prof. Dan Ramdath

23.  Dr. Naola Ferguson-Noel

24.  Dr. Shango Alamu

25.  Edwin Carrington 

For further information on the UWIAATT Distinguished Alumni Awards, please call 662 2002 ext. 82099. 


  • UWI Alumni Association

  • Tel.: 662 2002 ext. 82099