October 2011

Issue Home >>


Crown of Honour for Principal Sankat

The very prestigious Cacique’s Crown of Honour has been awarded to Pro Vice Chancellor and Principal of the St. Augustine Campus of The UWI, Professor Clement Sankat, as well as to the Vice Chancellor, Professor E. Nigel Harris. It is the third highest national award of Guyana, the place of their birth.

According to the instrument of appointment for Prof Sankat, it makes him a “Member of the Order of Service of Guyana” for his “outstanding service to the CARICOM Region in the field of education.”

Prof Sankat, who is a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago, left Guyana when he was 18, and has served The UWI for many years. Before becoming Principal of the Campus, he was Dean of the Faculty of Engineering. At a lavish ceremony on October 21, at the National Cultural Centre in Guyana, the national awards, which had been proclaimed on May 26, the country’s Independence Day, were presented by outgoing President of the Republic, His Excellency Bharrat Jagdeo.

Prof Sankat said that he is indeed “honoured and humbled” by the award from the land of his birth. Prime Minister of Guyana, Sam Hinds was conferred the Order of Excellence (OE), the nation’s highest award. Dr Arlington Chesney of CARDI was conferred the Golden Arrow of Achievement (AA), as was Dr. Edward Greene, former CARICOM Assistant Secretary-General.