March 2017

Issue Home >>


The UWI was represented by a delegation of 16 at the Harvard National Model United Nations (HNMUN) from February 16-19 in Boston, Massachusetts. The team was made up of students from the St. Augustine, Cave Hill and Mona Campuses. St. Augustine was represented by four post graduate students.

Kurba-Marie Questelles, Kia Jaikaran, Andrew Lavia and Andel Andrew were assigned to Poland and participated on two committees: the Disarmament and International Security Committee (GA-DISEC) and the Special Political and Decolonisation Committee (GA-SPECPOL). The students were expected to analyse and frame a resolution for two main topics.

HNMUN is a replication of the United Nations General Assembly. It brings together over 3,000 students and faculty from colleges and universities around the world and allows participants to experience and tackle challenges associated with international negotiation and diplomacy. Delegates gain insights into the works of the United Nations by actively participating in the resolution of global issues. Participants work with hundreds of other motivated students with the common goals of strengthening international awareness.