## **DRAFT PROGRAMME COTE 2011**

## DAY 1

- 9.00 9.45am Opening Ceremony
  - Welcome Chair Dr. Marlene Attzs
  - Greetings
    - Head of Dept
    - Dean of Faculty
    - Principal
  - Arts in Action Presentation
  - Presentation of a Plaque to Dr. St. Cyr
- 9.45am 10.15am Feature Address
  - Sir Dwight Venner
- 10.15am 10.45am Break
- 10.45am 11.45am Caribbean Economic Situation and Projections: International Regional and National Projections Panel
  - Mr. Anthony Birchwood Chairman
  - Dr. Gene Leon IMF
  - Mr. Willard Phillip- ECLAC
  - Dr. Shelton Nicholls Central Bank
- 11.45am 1.00pm Macroeconomics Challenges Panel
  - Prof. Karl Theodore Chairman
  - Mr. Andre Youne Haughton
  - Mr. Clive Matthew
  - Ms. Jocelyn Williams
  - Mr. Joseph Jason Cotton
  - 1.00pm 2.00pm Lunch Time Presentation Trinidad and Tobago Economics Association & Viewing of Poster Presentations
  - 2.00pm 2.15pm Distribution of Prizes to Essay Competition & Debating Winners
- 2.15pm 3.15pm Issues in Financial Economics
  - Dr. Lester Henry Chairman
  - Mr. Nyron Mohammed\*
  - Ms. Varuna Ramlal
  - Ms. Marla Dukharan
- 3.15pm 4.15pm Energy Challenges
  - Mr. Gregory McGuire Chairman
  - Mr. Kyren Griegg
  - Ms. Nazera Abdul Haqq

- Dr. Roger Hosein
- 4.15pm 5.15pm Trade & ICT Opportunities
  - Dr. Anne Marie Mohammed Chairman
  - Mr. Damie Sininan
  - Mr. Jeetendra Khadan
  - Ms. Nicole Chaitan- Kissoon

## DAY 2

- 9.00am 10.15am Social Economics Challenges and Policy Prescriptions
  - Mr. Roger McLean Chairman
  - Ms. Kimberly Ann Gittens -Baynes and Ms. Patricia Edwards Westcott
  - Mr. Inshan Mohammed
  - Prof Theodore, Ms. Haleema Ali and Ms. Tishana Simon
  - Mr. Justin Ram
- 10.15am 11.15am Resource & Environmental Economics Issues (Disaster Preparedness)
  - Dr. Marlene Attzs Chairman
  - Ms. Corrine Gregoire
  - Mr. Naresh Singh
  - Ms. Sherry Ann Ganse, Dr. Sonja Teelucksingh, Dr. Sandra Sookram and Prof. Patrick Watson
- Break 11.15 11.45am
- 11.45am 1.00pm Agriculture Opportunities and Challenges
  - Dr. Ewan Scott Chairman
  - Mr. Donald Palmer
  - Mr. Vassael Stewart TABA
  - Mr. Omardath Maharaj and Mr. Mahindra Maharaj
  - Ms. Rebecca Gookool
  - 1.00pm 2.00pm Lunch & Final Viewing of Poster Presentations
  - 2.00 2.15pm Presentation of Prize to Most Outstanding poster
- 2.15pm– 3.15pm Cultural Challenges and Opportunities
  - Prof Gary Garcia Chairman
  - Dr. Jo Anne Tull
  - Dr. Suzanne Burke
  - Mr. Alvin Daniel\*

- 3.15pm 4.30pm Tourism and Aviation Challenges and Opportunities
  - Mr. Martin Franklin Chairman
  - Ms. Wendy Francette-Williams
  - Mr. Ian Bertrand
  - Mr. Leslie Charles
  - Dr. Zsa Zsa Leysner Lenting
- 4.30pm 5.30pm Issues in Labour Economics
  - Mr. Gregory Wallace Chairman
  - Ms. Rosa Mae Whittier
  - Mr. Kayelle Clarke
  - Ms. Kara Brown

## **Closing Remarks – Head of Department**

\* To be Confirmed