Staff

Academic/Research | Administrative & Technical/Support

 

Academic Staff

Name

Title/Area of Responsibility/Expertise

Professor Pathmanathan Umaharan
Pathmanathan Umaharan

Professor in Genetics, Director

Genetics, Plant Breeding, Biotechnology

Pathmanathan.Umaharan@sta.uwi.edu
662-2002 Extension 82114
Frances Bekele
Frances Bekele


Cacao Germplasm Specialist,
Morphology team leader
Numerical taxonomy (classification) and phenotypic diversity of cacao, cocoa germplasm evaluation for traits of economic interest to identify candidates for enhancement and breeding.

Frances.Bekele@sta.uwi.edu
662-2002 Extension 83333

Michel Boccara - CIRAD Visiting Scientist - Cocoa Research Centre
Michel Boccara

CIRAD Visiting Scientist (former Molecular Lab team leader) 

DNA fingerprinting tools, Molecular profiling, genetic diversity analysis.

Michel.Boccara@sta.uwi.edu
662-2002 Extension 82178
Darin Sukha
Darin Sukha


Food Technologist, Flavour and Quality team leader

Research on fermentation, drying and quality assessment of cocoa. Conducting quality analyses (physical and organoleptic) on cocoa bean and chocolate samples.

Darin.Sukha@sta.uwi.edu
662-2002 Extension 83332
 


 

Dr. Martijn Ten Hoopen - Visiting Scientist from CIRAD, France, member of the CRC pathology team
Martijn ten Hoopen

CIRAD Visiting Scientist (Epidemiologist)
Pest and disease management with special emphasis on biological control of cacao pests and diseases, Agroforestry and Agroecology, Plant Epidemiology

Member of CRC Pathology team

Gerben.TenHoopen@sta.uwi.edu

662-2002 Extension 82178

Naailah Ali
Naailah Ali

Researcher (and PhD student) in the Flavour and Quality Lab working on organoleptic assessments and value addition in cocoa.

Naailah.Ali@sta.uwi.edu

662-2002 Extension 83332,83331

Gillian Bidaisee
Gillian Bidaisee


Researcher in the Morphological Descriptors Lab, working on cocoa fruit and flower data collection.

Gillian.Bidaisee@sta.uwi.edu

662-2002 Extension 83330

David Gopaulchan

Genetic Fingerprinter

Post-doctoral researcher working in the Molecular Lab

david@cocoacentre.com

662-2002 Extension 82115

Annelle Holder-John
Annelle Holder-John

 


ICGT (cocoa genebank) management: irrigation, propagation and seedling establishment.

Annelle.Holder-John@sta.uwi.edu

662-2002 Extension 83331

Marissa Moses
Marissa Moses

Post-doctoral researcher working on MSc. program development

Marissa@cocoacentre.com

662-2002 Extension 82115

Lambert Motilal
Lambert Motilal


Post-doctoral researcher working on DNA fingerprinting and molecular profiling of cocoa.

Lambert.Motilal@sta.uwi.edu

662-2002 Extension 82178

Gideon Ramtahal

Post-doctoral Research Fellow

Cadmium research for cocoa.

Gideon.Ramtahal@sta.uwi.edu

662-2002 Extension 82115

Antoinette Sankar
Antoinette Sankar


Fingerprinting with SNP markers, and collaborating in the Cacao Clones Manual project. Also, is the CRC webmaster, CRC representative on UWI Safety Committee and recently nominated as the Quality rep.

antoinette@cocoacentre.com

662-2002 Extension 82178

Romina Umaharan
Romina Umaharan

Researcher and PhD student working on Witches' Broom disease evaluation and other issues related to diseases of cacao.

Romina.Umaharan@sta.uwi.edu

662-2002 Extension 82178