niherst awards for excellence

On January 10, 2015 at The Hyatt Regency, Trinidad our own Dr. Judith Gobin and Ms. Xsitaaz Chadee were gracious recipients of 2014 Awards.


Dr. Judith Gobin, Lecturer Department of Life Sciences was presented The Julian Kenny Award for Natural Sciences—Silver.




Ms. Xsitaaz Chadee, Assistant Lecturer Department of Physics received The Frank Rampersad Award for Junior Scientist—Silver.



NIHERST honoured 9 men and women who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to their respective fields in science and technology.

The NIHERST Awards for Excellence in Science and Technology are the result of a partnership with the Caribbean Academy of Sciences (CAS) and are an integral part of NIHERST’s efforts to promote a strong national culture of science, technology and innovation. The Awards seek to recognise and reward nationals for outstanding achievements in science and technology, to provide positive role models for our youth to emulate, and to record our scientific heritage.

The award categories are: The Fenrick De Four Award for Engineering, The Emmanuel Ciprian Amoroso Award for Medical Sciences, The Rudranath Capildeo Award for Applied Science & Technology, The Julian Kenny Award for Natural Sciences, The Anthony Williams Award for Technological Innovation in Arts & Culture, The Frank Rampersad Award for Junior Scientist and The Ranjit Kumar Award for Junior Engineer.

Dr. Gobin and Ms. Chadee we are proud of your accomplishments and celebrate your success.


Read Feature Article ...

Photos courtesy NIHERST