

$International\ Symposium\ and\ Workshop\ on\ Nanoscience/Nanotechnology$ $July\ 15-17,\ 2014$

University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Campus, Trinidad

Programme Outline

Day 1: Tuesday, 15th

Venue – Daaga Auditorium

Opening Session	Opening Ceremony and Public Lecture			
5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.	Official Opening Ceremony			
6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.	Public Lecture			
	Professor Anthony K. Cheetham FRS (University of Cambridge, UK)			
	Topic: TBA			

Day 2: Wednesday, 16th

Venue – Teaching and Learning Complex (Lecture Theatre A1)

8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.	Overview, Welcome and Introduction to Symposium				
Session 1	Theme: Introducing Nanotechnology/Nanoscience				
9:00 a.m. – 9:40 a.m.	Professor Ishenkumba A. Kahwa (UWI, Mona, Jamaica)				
	Nanoscience/Nanotechnology: what's in it for the Caribbean?				
9:40 a.m. – 10: 20 a.m.	Professor Fidel Castro Díaz-Balart (Academy of Science, Cuba)				
	Capacity Building, Research Funding and Industry Partnership in Nanotechnology				
10:20 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.	Professor Chris Backhouse (University of Waterloo, Canada)				
10.20 a.m. – 11.00 a.m.	Breadth versus Depth: the Challenges of Undergraduate Nanotechnology Engineering Programs				
11:00 a.m. – 11:20 a.m.	Coffee Break				
11:20 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.	Professor Masami Okamoto (Toyota Technology Institute, Japan)				
11.20 a.m. – 12.00 p.m.	Polymeric Nanocomposites: An Overview from Science to Technology				
12:00 p.m. – 12:40 p.m.	Professor Jean-Louis Mansot (University of Guadeloupe, Guadeloupe)				
12.00 p.m. – 12.40 p.m.	Nanometric Aspects of Friction Properties of Lamellar Compounds and Nanoparticles				
12:40 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.	Lunch Break				
Session 2	Theme: Nanotechnology for Energy/Optoelectronic/Sensor Applications				
2:00 p.m. – 2:40 p.m.	Professor Anthony K. Cheetham, FRS (University of Cambridge, UK)				
2.00 p.m. – 2.40 p.m.	Efficient Light Conversion Nanomaterials				
2:40 p.m. – 3:10 p.m.	Errol Loïc Samuel (PhD Candidate, Rice University, USA)				
	Carbon-Based Nanoreporters for Oil/Gas Detection				
3:10 p.m. – 3:40 p.m.	Poster Session (Coffee Break)				
3:40 p.m. – 4:20 p.m.	Dr. Karthik Ramasamy (Los Alamos National Labs, USA)				
	Layered Chalcogenide CuSbS ₂ :Synthesis, Characterization, Optical Properties				
	Professor C. H. Vullzonni (INCASP, India)				
4:20 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Professor G. U. Kulkarni (JNCASR, India)				
4:20 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. 5:00 p.m. – 5:40 p.m.	Professor G. U. Kulkarni (JNCASR, India) Supramolecular Transistors and Sensors Professor Chris Backhouse (University of Waterloo, Canada)				

Day 3: Thursday, 17th

Venue – Teaching and Learning Complex (Lecture Theatre A1)

Session 1	Theme: Nanotechnology in Biology, Medicine and Pharmaceuticals				
8:30 a.m. – 9:10 a.m.	Professor M. Eswaramoorthy (JNCASR, India)				
6.50 a.m. – 7.10 a.m.	Nanomaterials for Biological Applications				
9:10 a.m. – 9:50 a.m.	Dr. Christy A. Hunter FRSC (University of Manchester, UK)				
	Nano-pharmaceuticals				
9:50 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.	Professor Frank Gu (University of Waterloo, Canada)				
	Nanoparticles for the Controlled Release and Delivery of Drugs				
10:30 a.m. – 10:50 a.m.	Coffee Break				
10.50 11.20	Professor Masami Okamoto (Toyota Technology Institute, Japan)				
10:50 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.	Fabrication of Composite Scaffolds for Tissue Engineering Applications				
11:30 a.m. – 12:10 p.m.	Professor Yashwant Pathak (University of South Florida, USA)				
	Nano-Biomaterials for Ophthalmic Drug Delivery				
12:10 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.	Lunch Break				
Session 1 cont'd	Theme: Nanotechnology in Biology/Medicine/Pharmaceuticals				
1:30 p.m. – 1:50 p.m.	Errol Loïc Samuel (PhD Candidate, Rice University, USA) Antioxidant Carbon-Based Nanomaterials				
	Professor Fidel Castro Díaz-Balart (Academy of Science, Cuba)				
1:50 p.m. – 2:300 p.m.	Nanotechnology in Biology and Medicine, Increasing Competitiveness of				
	Industry				
Session 2	Theme: Synthesis/Nanofabrication Processes/Characterization				
Session Chair	TBA				
2:30 p.m. – 3:10 p.m.	Professor Chris Kiely (Lehigh University, USA)				
2.30 p.m. – 3.10 p.m.	Aberration Corrected Analytical Electron Microscopy of Nanoscale Catalyst Materials				
3:10 p.m. – 3:40 p.m.	Poster Session (Coffee Break)				
2,40 m m 4,20 m (Professor M. Eswaramoorthy (JNCASR, India)				
3:40 p.m. – 4:20 p.m.	Bioinspired Synthesis of Nanomaterials				
4.20 5.00	Professor G. U. Kulkarni (JNCASR, India)				
4:20 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Direct Write Nanolithography				
5:00 p.m. – 5:40 p.m.	Professor Robin Klupp Taylor (Friedrich-Alexander University, Germany)				
	Liquid Phase Synthesis of Nanostructured Materials for Optical Applications				
5:40 p.m.	End of Symposium				

Board Members:

President: Prof. Dyer Narinesingh, President Emeritus: Prof. Harold Ramkissoon, Vice President: Prof. Jean-Louis Mansot, Executive Secretary: Suren Gajraj, Treasurer: Dr. Permanand Mohan. Other Members: Prof. Ronald Young, Dr. Subramanian Gomathinayagam