The Second Annual Caribbean Singlewicket Cricket Tournament June 14, 2014

Presented by
Glory Entertainment Television
in association with the
Singlewicket Cricket Foundation of Trinidad & Tobago

The Caribbean Singlewicket Cricket Tournament will be staged for the second consecutive year at The UWI, St. Augustine, on June 14. This day/night event combines fast-paced cricket action with pulsating musical entertainment over a seven hour period. The world's leading allrounders from the Caribbean are going to do battle to determine the ultimate allrounder in the modern cricket game.

In 2013, the annual Caribbean Singlewicket Cricket Tournament was launched in Trinidad with six participating territories. The quasi-exhibition tournament was played at UWI Ground on October 13th and attracted the region's most popular beer company as the major sponsor.

Dwayne Smith, the most valuable player in the 2013 Indian Premier League (IPL)T20 defeated Guyanese all-rounder Christopher Barnwell -another(IPL)player in the Tournament final.

The laws of the team cricket game generally apply to single wicket cricket. However, the Glory TV version of this individual format introduces a few special rules which contribute to the exhilaration felt by players and spectators. These include:

- Each game involves 2 overs per inning.
- Each game has two innings with a duration of 20mins on average.
- Each player/allrounder is partnered by a non-striking runner.
- A batsman is allowed a maximum of three dismissals in an innings
- ➤ Neutral fieldsmen and wicketkeepers are used.

Evolution of Singlewicket Cricket Summarised

Ever since the first cricket test match was played between England and Australia in 1876, a cricket match was accepted as a protracted affair played over several days. Although the

game grew in popularity among citizens of former British colonies, this increasingly paled in significance to the faster paced games such as soccer (football), baseball, and basketball. In this form of the game, revenues were limited and players were poorly paid.

In 1977, an Australian business tycoon led a veritable revolt against the established game when he financed a series of one-day matches among players from the key cricket-playing countries of the day. The prospect of seeing a game completed in a single day excited passions and the crowds grew, advertisers signed on and the players began to achieve superstar status.

In 2003, an even shorter version of the game was introduced by the England and Wales Cricket Board and this has since been embraced by cricket playing countries around the world. In this version, a game can be completed in the relatively short time of three hours and spectators are promised an experience complete with entertainment during the games. Several countries have organized domestic tournaments using a structure for professional team sports that has long existed in football, basketball, and baseball.

In 2009, Glory Entertainment Television (Glory TV) sought to revive an even shorter, and perhaps, more exciting version of the game with the launch of a single wicket competition in Trinidad and Tobago. Glory Entertainment Television(Glory TV), a Trinidad and Tobago based media content development company founded in 1997, entered into the sports entertainment arena against the background that cricket supremacy for the West Indies hinged on the resurgence of singlewicket cricket. This innovative format is tailormade to expose allround cricket ability not evident in the team sport that cricket has become. The company's business model seeks to position singlewicket cricket as the most viable sports entertainment product emerging from the Caribbean to become an international brand.

The Competition at a Glance

The 2014 Competition aims to bring the best cricket allrounders to Trinidad on June 14. Altogether, twelve players from seven Caribbean territories who have worn West Indies colours or excelled in the earlier version of the singlewicket cricket tournament are being invited. Four players will be seeded to limit the chance of the leading players clashing in the group stage.

Group 1	Group 2	Group3	Group 4
Player A	Player A	Player A	Player A
Player B	Player B	Player B	Player B
Player C	Player C	Player C	Player C

The main draw consists of twelve allrounders divided into 4 groups. Three games played in each group to determine a group winner. Group winners proceed to knockout phase. Two

semi-final games played and winners proceed to grand finals. Altogether, 15 short games are to be contested to determine the Caribbean Singlewicket Cricket Tournament.

Invitations will be issued to several of the world's leading allrounders who hail from the Caribbean including Dwayne Smith (defending champion), Kieron Pollard, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Sammy and Lendl Simmons.

Prize Money & Incentives

The promoters will offer a winner's prize of \$ 7,000USD and other prizes and incentives altogether amounting to \$15,000USD for the novel cricket tournament.