Staff Notices

Free Access to 250 UWI Press e-books

Posted Friday, May 22, 2020

The University of the West Indies Press (UWI Press) is pleased to announce that its 250 e-books are available to all UWI staff and students effective May 1, 2020. The e-books can be accessed ‘off-campus’ via UWILinC, the University Libraries’ information resources discovery interface. Instructions for accessing the award-winning UWI Press collection for each campus follows:

St Augustine Campus Users

Go to, click on the “Databases A-Z” link in the Collections box and then click on U, then click on “UWI PRESS eBooks”. Follow the login prompts to access the resource.

How Other The UWI Campuses Can Access

Cave Hill and Five Islands Campus Users

Mona Campus Users

  • Go to, click on “E-Book Providers” under the Resources heading, then click on “UWIPress”. Follow the login prompts to access the resource.

Open Campus Users

Go to UWIlinC for Open Campus, then click on “Find Databases” followed by ‘U’ and select the link to “UWI Press ebooks [Link Only]” and login.

About the UWI Press e-book off-campus Initative

This initiative is a collaborative effort between UWI Press and the Digital Library Services Centre of the Alma Jordan Library at the St Augustine Campus. It is in keeping with a mandate to support the dissemination of knowledge by providing open access to the digitally preserved, intellectual output of the University. These E-books were launched and made available ‘on-campus’ in 2016, but due to the physical campus closures resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, they are now being offered ‘off-campus’ to the UWI community.

About UWI Press

The UWI Press is a non-profit publisher of scholarly books in 16 academic disciplines. It is particularly known for publishing authors of Caribbean history, Caribbean cultural studies, Caribbean literature, Caribbean linguistics, gender studies, environmental studies, education, political science and more recently Caribbean media studies. UWI Press books are peer-reviewed and approved by an editorial committee comprised of local and international scholars. For more information, please visit: