News Releases

UWI St. Augustine names six valedictorians

For Release Upon Receipt - October 16, 2012

St. Augustine

The University of the West Indies (UWI) St. Augustine Campus has named its six valedictorians for the Graduation Ceremonies to be held from Thursday 25th to Saturday 27th October, 2012.   

Kiron Neale, Denilson Christopher, Sameer Alladin, Nara Anderson-Figueroa, Nayaatha Taitt and Maryam Mohammed have been selected to speak on behalf of their graduating classes.   

The previously named eight honorary graduands will also address the ceremonial proceedings. The honorary Doctor of Law degree (LLD) will be conferred on Ronald Harford, Fr. Clyde Harvey, Alloy Lequay, Maureen Manchouck, Michael Mansoor and Deokinanan Sharma. Davan Maharaj and Therese Mills will receive the Doctor of Letters degree (DLitt).  

The following is the schedule for the graduation ceremonies, and the valedictorians who will speak.


Thursday 25th October 2012 

A.M. – Faculty of Science and Agriculture

1. Mr Kiron Neale 

B.Sc Major in Environment and Natural Resource Management and Geography with First Class Honours

P.M. – Faculty of Engineering and Law 

2. Mr Denilson Christopher

B.Sc (Eng) Chemical and Process Engineering with Second Class Honours (Upper Division)


Friday 26th October 2012 

A.M. – Faculty of Social Sciences

3. Mr Sameer Alladin 

B.Sc Psychology (Special) with First Class Honours

P.M. – Faculty of Social Sciences 

4. Ms Nara Anderson-Figueroa

B.Sc Psychology (Special) with First Class Honours


Saturday 27th October 2012

A.M. – Faculty of Humanities and Education 

5. Ms Nayaatha Taitt

B.A. French (Major); Spanish (Major) with First Class Honours

P.M. – Faculty of Medical Sciences 

6. Ms Maryam Mohammed

Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS)