News Releases

UWI Schools of Medicine and Dentistry take the Oath

For Release Upon Receipt - June 4, 2008

St. Augustine

The University of the West Indies (UWI) Faculty of Medical Sciences will host an Oath Taking Ceremony for the Schools of Human Medicine and Dentistry on Sunday 15th June, 2008 at Amphitheatre A, Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex from 3:45 p.m. This year the Oath Taking ceremony coincides with the 60th Anniversary celebrations of the Faculty of Medical Sciences and the University of the West Indies.

Professor Paluri Murti, Director of the Dentistry School will lead the taking of the Dentistry Oath, while Dr. Premchand Ratan, Senior Lecturer, School of Medicine, will lead the Medicine Oath. Prizes will be given to students who have received exceptional examination results in the areas of Anaesthetics, Surgery, Community Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Medicine, Orthopedics, Child Dental Health, Oral Diseases, as well as for Best Overall Performance.

The Honourable Dr. Amery Browne, Minister of Social Development, will be the Feature Speaker at this event, while the Honourable Dr. Fitzgerald Jeffrey, of the Ministry of Tertiary Education, will present a special opening address. Pro Vice Chancellor and Campus Principal Professor Clement Sankat, Professor Samuel Ramsewak, Dean Faculty of Medical Sciences will also be key speakers at the ceremony.

This event is open to staff, graduating students, parents and alumni of the Medical and Dental School by invitation only. A cocktail reception will follow the ceremony.

For further information please contact Professor Zulaika Ali at or Dr. Monica Davis at 645-2640 Ext. 4621.