News Releases

17 to receive UWI honorary degrees at 2018 Graduation Ceremonies

For Release Upon Receipt - August 8, 2018


Seventeen influencers who have made outstanding contributions regionally and internationally within their respective fields will be awarded honorary degrees by The University of the West Indies (The UWI) this year. As is tradition, the honorary graduands represent a cross-section of eminent persons in the arts, sciences and other fields of intellectual endeavour. Their degrees which have been approved by the University Council, will be conferred at The UWI’s 2018 graduation ceremonies and presented by Chancellor Robert Bermudez.

The schedule of graduation ceremonies begins October 13 at the Open Campus in Saint Lucia, and continues on October 20 at the Cave Hill Campus, October 25-27 at the St Augustine Campus and November 2-3 at the Mona Campus. Each ceremony will be streamed live allowing friends, family and well-wishers to view the proceedings. The complete list of UWI honorary graduands for 2018, and each of their nominated honorary degrees follows. Further details will be shared at a later date.


Open Campus

§  The Honourable Dame Janice Mesadis Pereira DBE from the British Virgin Islands for her work in Law – LLD

§  Mr Larry Quinlan from St Kitts for his work in Leadership – LLD


Cave Hill Campus

§  The Honourable Justice Adrian Dudley Saunders from St Vincent and the Grenadines for his work in Law – LLD

§  Professor Ebenezer Oduru Owusu from Ghana for his contribution as an Agricultural Scientist – DSc


St Augustine Campus

§  Mrs Paula Lucie-Smith from Trinidad and Tobago for her contributions as a teacher, advocate and pioneer – LLD

§  The Honourable Hubert Ingraham from The Bahamas for his work as a Politician – LLD

§  Mr Shivnarine Chanderpaul from Guyana for his achievements in the sport of cricket – LLD

§  Mr Winston A. Bailey, OBE (Mighty Shadow) from Trinidad and Tobago for his contributions as a Musical Composer – DLitt


Mona Campus

§  Mr Michael Anthony Holding from Jamaica for his achievements in the sport of cricket – LLD

§  The Honourable Kenneth S. Benjamin, OJ, CD from Jamaica for his leadership in the field of Security – LLD

§  Mrs Donette St M. Chin-Loy Chang from Jamaica for her philanthropy – LLD

§  Mr H. Carl McCall from the US for his leadership in Public Service – DLitt

§  Professor Shirley J. Thompson from Jamaica/UK, for her ground-breaking work as a classical music composer, artistic director and educator - DLitt

§  Ms Grace B. Jones from Jamaica for her achievements as an entertainer, model and global trendsetter – DLitt

§  Dr Karl Wellington from Jamaica for his contributions as an Agricultural Scientist – DSc

§  Mr Lloyd A. Williams from Jamaica for his contributions in leadership – LLD

§  Mr Montgomery Bernard “Monty” Alexander from Jamaica for his achievements as a Musician - DLitt




Notes to the editor:

Graduand: Descriptive title given to a person who is about to receive an academic degree

Hon DSc: Honorary Doctor of Science

Hon DLitt: Honorary Doctor of Literature

Hon LLD: Honorary Doctor of Laws