News Releases

Sir Hilary on ICC's 100 years of cricket

For Release Upon Receipt - July 23, 2009

St. Augustine

Principal of the Cave Hill campus of The University of the West Indies, Sir Hilary Beckles was part of a group of academics, historians, statisticians, former cricket administrators and players reflecting on a century of cricket development at Oxford for the ICC History Conference on July 22 and 23.

The conference, at the Nissan Institute at St Antony’s College, Oxford, looked at the past 100 years of the game as part of the ICC’s centenary year celebrations. Among other participants were former ICC President Ehsan Mani, first Chief Executive David Richards, and retired cricketers, Bishan Bedi, Angus Fraser, Sourav Ganguly, Clive Lloyd and Bob Willis.

The ICC began as the Imperial Cricket Conference in 1909 with just three members: Australia, England and South Africa. It now has 104 members, and its development over those 100 years was the focus of discussions by panels including Brian Stoddart, the former Vice-Chancellor of La Trobe University, Australia, Boria Majumdar of the University of Central Lancashire, Don Neely, the President of New Zealand Cricket, and journalists and cricket historians Mihir Bose, David Frith and Gideon Haigh, among others.