News Releases

Lok Jack GSB Announces Essay Competition Winners

For Release Upon Receipt - January 18, 2010


The Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business recently hosted their 2009 Essay Competition, attracting participants with prizes of two scholarships. The winners were announced on Monday January 4th 2010. In his opening statement at the presentation ceremony Professor Miguel Carrillo, Executive Director of the Lok Jack GSB, said that this competition should be taken as an example of the School’s commitment to attract, educate and develop the very best students in Trinidad and Tobago and the wider Caribbean region.  

Applicants submitted essays on the topic “What strategies can a Caribbean leader use to become innovative?” Semone Moore of St. James and Avinash Maharajh emerged winners of the competition and were awarded the scholarships to the IMBA programme at the School. Both students expressed their gratitude and pledged their commitment to working with the School to develop and promote a national innovation system.

In her essay Semone pointed out that "A cultural revolution is needed among regional leaders. Shedding the traditional dependence on the bureaucratic organisational structure and its associated organisational culture as well as transcending misoneism through new paradigms, methods and technology is a necessary watershed. Such changes must be embraced in order to precipitate the transformation in culture that will cultivate innovation."

Avinash suggested that “The enhancement and diversification of their educational backgrounds, the utilisation and refinement of their technological savvy and intra-disciplinary as well as inter-disciplinary knowledge sharing are just a few of the methodologies that can be employed to foster the growth of an innovative leader.”

We congratulate both students who will now join the Lok Jack GSB in its quest to ignite innovation and enlighten leaders.

To find out more, please contact The Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business at (868) 645 6700, or visit   


For more UWI News, click



Related Links





UWI Today:


About Arthur Lok Jack Graduate school of Business

The Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business (formerly the UWI-Institute of Business) was established in 1989 as a joint venture between the University of the West Indies and the private sector of Trinidad and Tobago to provide postgraduate education in business and management. In October 2005, the Board of Directors and the University agreed to change the name of the business school in honour of a $20 million endowment made by Arthur Lok Jack, one of the Caribbean’s leading entrepreneurs. Lok Jack GSB has produced more than 1000 graduates to date and has trained and developed more than 19,000 persons in executive and professional programmes. Today, Lok Jack GSB is recognised as the premier institution for the provision of business and management education, training and consultancy services in Trinidad and Tobago and the wider Caribbean region.


About UWI

Over the last six decades, The University of the West Indies (UWI) has evolved from a fledgling college in Jamaica with 33 students to a full-fledged University with over 40,000 students. Today, UWI is the largest and most longstanding higher education provider in the English-speaking Caribbean, with main campuses in Barbados, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago, and Centres in Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St Christopher (St Kitts) & Nevis, St Lucia, and St Vincent & the Grenadines. UWI recently launched its Open Campus, a virtual campus with over 50 physical site locations across the region, serving over 20 countries in the English-speaking Caribbean. UWI is an international university with faculty and students from over 40 countries and collaborative links with over 60 universities around the world. Through its seven Faculties, UWI offers undergraduate and postgraduate degree options in Engineering, Humanities & Education, Law, Medical Sciences, Pure & Applied Sciences, Science and Agriculture, and Social Sciences.