July 2010

Issue Home >>



Nominations open for prestigious awards

The Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence has called for nominations for its 2011 Awards in Arts & Letters, Science & Technology, and Public & Civic Contributions.

The Sabga Awards, which include a gold medal, TT $500,000, and a citation, have been presented on three occasions to ten distinguished Caribbean persons since 2006. They are the only awards which canvas the entire English-speaking Caribbean in the three categories. Laureates include Trinidadian film-maker Yao Ramesar, St Lucian poet Adrian Augier, Guyanese writer, poet and critic Professor David Dabydeen, Grenadian anatomical pathologist, Prof Kathleen Coard, Barbadian solar energy entrepreneur, James Husbands, and Guyanese Indigenous Peoples’ and environmental activist, Sydney Allicock.

Nominations may be made by any person or institution in any of the categories, and persons may nominate themselves. The descriptions of the attributes desired in nominees in each category, and the nomination form, are available on the awards website, www.ansacaribbeanawards.com.

Nominations were initially the responsibility of Country Nominating Committees (CNCs) in Jamaica, the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS), Guyana, Barbados and Trinidad & Tobago. However, in order to democratize the process, it was decided that the call for nominations should be opened to the public and institutions. The CNCs will still be able to nominate individuals, and it is to the CNCs that all nominations will go to be assessed.

Once the CNCs have decided on the best candidates, and the candidates’ credentials have been verified by independent investigators, the CNCs pass on their recommendations to the regional Eminent Persons Panel (EPP), who make the final selection. The Awards are funded by the ANSA McAL Foundation, but nominations, selections and all adjudication is independent of Foundation members.

In order to be considered for the 2011 Awards, nominations must be received by August 31, 2010. The Awards may be sent by email, fax, or printed copy to the Programme Office. The addresses are: ANSA Centre, 9th Floor, TATIL Building, 11, Maraval Road, St Clair, Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago; (fax) 868 622 3941 and (email): anscafe@ansamcal.com.