Academic Staff

 

Claudius Fergus
Head of Department & Senior Lecturer.
B.A., M.A., Ph.D. (UWI); Cert. SOTL (UBC)

Interests: Africa & African Diaspora, Atlantic abolitionism

claudius.fergus@sta.uwi.edu ext. 82025

 

Charisa-Marie Alexis
Instructor
B.Sc. Psyc (UWI)

Interests: Caribbean Civilisation

charisa-marie.alexis@sta.uwi.edu ext. 82655

 

Bridget Brereton  
Prof. Emierita
B.A.(UWI), M.A. (Toronto), Ph.D. (UWI)

Interests: Social Life in the Caribbean, Women & Gender in History, Historiography

bridget.brereton@sta.uwi.edu

 

 

John F. Campbell 
Lecturer
B.A. (UWI), M. Phil. Cert. CETL (UWI), M. Phil. Ph.D. (Cantab.)

Interests: Intellectual History, Gender & Sexuality in the Caribbean,Tertiary Level Teaching

john.campbell@sta.uwi.edu ext. 82642

 

Heather Cateau
Senior Lecturer , Dean Faculty FHE
B.A. (UWI), Ph.D. (UWI)

Interests: Caribbean Social & Economic History, 20th Century Cultural History

heather.cateau@sta.uwi.edu ext. 83059

Christian Cwik
Lecturer
Mag. Phil, PhD (University of Vienna), PD Dip. (Austria)

Interests: European and Atlantic History, Resistance and Revolution, Immigration and Jewish Diaspora

Christian Cwik@sta.uwi.edu ext. 83058


Lovell Francis
Temp Lecturer 

B.A., Ph.D. (UWI)

Interests: Economic History, Sugar

lovell.francis@sta.uwi.edu ext. 83051

 

Armando García de la Torre
Lecturer 
B.A. (Boston), M.A. (Florida), Ph.D(Washington State)

Interests: Cuba, Spanish Caribbean, Latin America, World History

armando.garcia@sta.uwi.edu ext. 83054

 

Gelien Matthews 
Lecturer 

B.A., Dip Ed., Cert. CETL (UWI), PhD (Hull)

Interests: Enslaved Resistance in the Caribbean, U.S. History, Philosophy of History

gelien.matthews@sta.uwi.edu ext. 83051

 

Debbie McCollin  
Lecturer 

B.A., (Hood, US), PhD, Cert. CETL (UWI)

Interests: Health in Trinidad and Tobago

debbie.mccollin@sta.uwi.edu ext. 83049

 

Atlury Murali
Visiting Professor of Indian Diaspora Studies
M.A. (Andhra) Ph.D (Jawaharlal Nehru Univ. India)

Interests: Modern Indian History

atlury.murali@sta.uwi.edu ext. 83773

 

Aakiel Murray
Teaching / Research Assistant
B.A. (UWI)

Interests: Presbyterianism in Trinidad

aakiel.murray@sta.uwi.edu ext. 83773

 

Renee Nelson
Temp. Assistant Lecturer 
B.A. (UWI),

Interests: Caribbean Archeology

renee.nelson@sta.uwi.edu ext. 83306

 

Ronald Noel  
Temp Lecturer 

B.A., M.Phil. (UWI), Ph.D. (Howard Univ.)

Interests: Pan Africanism

ronald.noel@sta.uwi.edu

 

Ricardo O'Brien
Teaching / Research Assistant
B.A. (UWI)

Interests: Political Biography

ricardo_obrien@yahoo.com ext. 83773

 

 

Basil Reid
Senior Lecturer & Archaeologist
B.A. (UWI), M.A. (London), Ph.D. (Florida)

Interests: Caribbean Archaeology, Geoinformatics, Forensics, Trinidad Railways

basil.reid@sta.uwi.edu ext. 3306

 

Sherry-Ann Singh
Lecturer 
B.A. (UWI), Ph.D. (UWI)

Interests: South Asia, Indian Diaspora

sherry-ann.singh@sta.uwi.edu ext. 83060

 

Jerome Teelucksingh
Lecturer B.A. (UWI), M.A. (Guelph), Ph.D. (UWI)

Interests: Caribbean Diaspora, Labour in Trinidad & Tobago,Fugitive Afro-Descendants in Canada

jerome.teelucksingh@sta.uwi.edu ext. 82026

 

Peter Timothy  
Teaching Research Assistant

B.A. (UWI)

Interests: Caribbean migration

peter.timothy@sta.uwi.edu

 

Michael Toussaint 
Lecturer
B.A., Ph.D. CETL (UWI)

Interests: African Diaspora, Credit Union Movement

michael.toussaint@sta.uwi.edu