UWI Marketing and Communications Home About Us Services News Events Publications Contact
About UWI

Developing a Region

The University of the West Indies (UWI) is an independent university that serves mainly the English-speaking territories of the West Indies.  The countries listed here under all contribute to the UWI.

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • The Commonwealth of the Bahamas
  • Barbados 
  • Belize 
  • The British Virgin Islands 
  • The Cayman Islands 
  • The Commonwealth of Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Jamaica
  • Montserrat
  • St Kitts & Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and The Grenadines
  • The Republic of Trinidad & Tobago



The University has Campuses at Cave Hill in Barbados, St. Augustine in Trinidad and Tobago and Mona in Jamaica. The total student body is distributed amongst the Faculties of Law, Humanities, Science and Technology, Social Sciences and the School of Clinical Medicine & Research at Cave Hill; Arts & Education, Medical Sciences, Social Sciences and Pure & Applied Sciences at Mona; and Agriculture & Natural Sciences, Engineering, Humanities & Education, Medical Sciences and Social Sciences at St. Augustine.

Our History

The University began teaching in 1948 as a University College affiliated with the University of London, and became an independent University in 1962. In 1963, Colleges of Arts and Sciences were set up at Cave Hill and St. Augustine. The former represented the institution of a new ‑ the third – campus, while the latter was an extension of the facilities provided at St. Augustine, where there were already the Faculties of Agriculture and Engineering. The Faculty of Law was established in 1970. The University of the West Indies is now a dual mode institution offering teaching by distance education as well as face-to-face.