Animal Diseases TT

The Project Team


This work is being carried out by a team at the School of Veterinary Medicine, Faculty of Medical Sciences, Mt. Hope, University of the West Indies. The virology project falls under the Department of Basic Veterinary Sciences and is fully funded through an RDI grant awarded to Professor Chris Oura in 2013.

Professor Chris Oura- Professor Veterinary Virology, School of Veterinary Medicine, UWI

Professor Chris Oura


Professor Christine Carrington- Professor Molecular Virology, School of Medicine, UWI 

Generic photo


Arianne Brown Jordan- PhD Candidate, Postgraduate Student, UWI

Arianne Brown Jordan


Jamie Sookhoo- Mphil Candidate, Postgraduate Student, UWI

Jamie Sookhoo


Lemar Blake- Veterinary Virology Technician, School of Veterinary Medicine, UWI

Lemar Blake

Assisting advisors on the project are:-

Professor Abiodun Adesiyun-  Professor of Veterinary Public Health

Dr. Gabriel Brown- Lecturer in Avian Sciences

Dr. Karla Georges- Senior Lecturer Veterinary Public Health

Local partners assisting with the project:-

Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries- Trinidad & Tobago

The Poultry Surveillance Unit – Trinidad

Veterinary Public Health- Trinidad

Tobago House of Assembly- Tobago

Division of Agriculture, Marine Affairs, Marketing & the Environment (DAMME)- Tobago

Pointe-a-Pierre Wildfowl Trust- Trinidad

International Partners

Ian Brown- Animal and Plant Health Agency (APHA), Weybridge UK