June 2017

Issue Home >>


At the opening ceremony of the UWI Games on May 25, the awardees of the Vice-Chancellor’s Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year were announced.

Vikash Mohan, the current captain of the St. Augustine Men’s Cricket Team was named Sportsman of the Year. Vikash has previously led youth teams in Trinidad from Under13 to Under19. He is a final-year Mechanical Engineering Student at St. Augustine.

Shimona Nelson, the Sportswoman of 2017, is a first-year student who plays netball, basketball and throws the javelin. She took up a scholarship in 2016 after being scouted by The UWI Mona Sports Programme and is pursuing a degree in Psychology at Mona.

Eleven student athletes from across the University’s four campuses—Cave Hill, Mona, Open and St. Augustine were nominated and the ceremony took place at the Cave Hill Campus.