About Us

The Caribbean Centre for Health Systems Research and Development (CCHSRD) is a Campus Research Centre, at the University of The West Indies, St. Augustine. The Centre was established in April 2018 to provide a program of work in Health Policy and Systems Research (HPSR) as a means to strengthen health systems in the Caribbean region. Indeed, health systems in the Caribbean face many challenges and weak health systems are a critical obstacle to improving health. Heath decision-makers in the Caribbean need research that can help address their real-world policy and systems problems. The establishment of the Centre is an excellent example of The UWI’s alignment of its research agenda with the needs of the Caribbean people.


About Us Quicktabs

Mission Statement

To generate and facilitate the use of research evidence, empowering Caribbean countries to strengthen health systems and policy making processes, thus enabling greater equity in health.


Vision Statement

To be a world-class centre, bringing together policymakers, researchers and communities, to achieve optimal population health outcomes.


Governance and Management Structure


Advisory Board

The Advisory Board assists with goal setting and monitoring the achievement of our strategic objectives. It meets twice per year. The Board’s main functions are to:

  • Provide advice on the strategic direction of the Centre. This includes its longer-term strategic plans as well as short-term work programmes;
  • Provide feedback on the Centre’s sustainability plan;
  • Provide recommendations on funding and other opportunities for collaborations;
  • Provide feedback on the Centre’s monitoring and evaluation (M&E) plan;
  • Receive and provide feedback on the Director’s Annual Reports.



Current Board


Prof Terence Seemungal

Dean, Faculty of Medical Sciences.

The University of the West Indies

St. Augustine



Anton de Kom University of Suriname


Professor Jack  Menke

Caribbean Institute for Health Research


Professor Marshall Tulloch-Reid

Healthy Caribbean Coalition

Executive Director

Professor Sir Trevor Hassell

McMaster Health Forum, University of McMaster, Canada


Professor John Lavis

Ministry of Health, Trinidad and Tobago

Permanent Secretary

Mr Asif Ali

Ministry of Health, Guyana

Chief Medical Officer

Dr Narine Singh

Ministry of Public Health, Suriname

Director of Health

Dr Rakesh Gajadhar Sukul

Pan American Health Organisation

PAHO/WHO Representative 

Dr Erica Wheeler

The University of the West Indies

Chair, Campus Committee for Graduate Studies and Research

Professor Hariharan Seetharaman

The University of the West Indies

Director, Office of Research Development and Knowledge Transfer

Professor John Agard

University of Guyana

Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

Dr Emmanuel Cummings

Women Working for Social Progress, Trinidad and Tobago


Ms Jacquie Burgess

Top of Page