Head of Department

The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Campus Trinidad and Tobago, W.I.

Telephone: 662-2002 ext. 82167,83142
Room No: 320

Email: Sanjay.Bahadoorsingh@sta.uwi.edu

Sanjay Bahadoorsingh holds the B.Sc. in Electrical and Computer Engineering from The University of The West Indies (UWI), the M.Sc. degree in Power Systems Engineering and Economics from The University of Manchester Institute of Science & Technology (UMIST) and the Ph.D. degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from The University of Manchester (UoM). He is a Professor of Power Systems and Sustainable Energy and is the Head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The UWI, St Augustine Campus. He is a former Deputy Dean – Enterprise Development and Outreach for the Faculty of Engineering.

Since joining The UWI family in 2010, Professor Bahadoorsingh has made significant contributions to the field of electrical engineering and sustainable energy. He is a Registered Engineer, Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and currently serves as Head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The UWI, St. Augustine Campus. He has an impressive portfolio of over 60 referred publications, many technical presentations, and numerous industry-oriented technical reports. He also serves as a technical IEEE reviewer. Professor Bahadoorsingh is The UWI’s technical committee representative to the Caribbean Centre of Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency (CCREEE) and the St Augustine Campus Emobility Hub.

Professor Bahadoorsingh holds several key positions related to standards and policy-making in Trinidad and Tobago. He is the Chairman of the National Technical Committee for Electrical Codes at the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards, responsible for overseeing the development of all electrical standards. He is also the President of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) National Electrotechnical Committee Affiliate Country Programme for Trinidad and Tobago. He also serves as the Co-Chairman of the Specification Committee for Electric and Plug-in Hybrid Vehicles and the Chairman of the High Voltage Code Committee at the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards. Additionally, he is a director and former Chairman of the Trinidad and Tobago Multistakeholder Advisory Group (MAG), formulating policies for the registration of domain names within the Trinidad and Tobago ccTLD. Since 2016, he serves as a Member of the Board of Trustees of The College of Science, Technology and Applied Arts of Trinidad and Tobago (COSTAATT).

As the former Chair of IEEE Trinidad and Tobago Section, he was instrumental in hosting the first IEEE international event in Trinidad and Tobago in 2016. He also served as The UWI’s representative to the Technical Assistance Programme for Sustainable Energy in the Caribbean (TAPSEC) Steering Committee and its Technical Advisory Committee. Additionally, he has served as the Assistant Chief Examiner for CXC’s CAPE Electrical and Electronic Technology, a member of CROSQ (CARICOM Organization for Standards and Quality) Technical Sub-Committee on Electric Cables at the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards (TTBS) and the Chairman of the Electric Vehicle Working Group at the Government Electrical Inspectorate (GEI). During his tenure as Deputy Dean for Enterprise Development & Outreach in 2019, he played a crucial role in the launch of the first level II electric vehicle supply equipment (situated at the Faculty of Engineering) to undergo electrical inspection in the country.



  • BSc (UWI), MSc (UMIST), PhD (Manchester), REng, SMIEEE, MAPETT
Top of Page