The Law Society

Block C of Faculty of Enigneering

law society.png

The Law Society is made up of members of the student body who become members through the payment of a yearly fee. The Society is headed by a group of students known as "The Executive". These students are chosen by the Law Society members by election every year, while the President of the Society is chosen by students of the overall Faculty (these students may not necessarily be members of the Law Society). This is because, the President also plays the role of the Faculty of Law Representative on the Guild of Students.

The Law Society Executive has many purposes:

  • To bridge the "gap" between the Faculty's administration (Staff) and the student body itself. This is usually done through the President and Class Representatives who sit in on the Faculty Board meetings and the Joint Consultative Committee (JCC). Through these mechanisms, we (the students) are able to bring concerns of the wider student body to the attention of lecturers and other members of staff to improve the conditions under which we learn and grow as individuals and students.
  • To ensure that Law Students are given an opportunity to have balanced lifestyles and be holistic individuals. During the first semester, there are many activities which encourage new Law students to interact and integrate with the continuing law students. These activities also allow all students to take a “break” from the hectic academic lifestyle that Law Students experience. The mental and physical activities allow new students to have an opportunity to relax, rather than become overwhelmed. It also allows them to learn that time needs to be set aside for personal goals and activities in order to maintain some level of sanity and balance.
  • To help Law Students reach out to the wider community through charitable initiatives. As budding lawyers, we must not live in a vacuum. We must always remember that there are people living in situations where they need the help and support of others. This is also a part of becoming a holistic individual. The ability to be aware of others’ circumstances and be willing to empathise and "lend a hand".
  • The President of the Law Society, being a member of the Guild of Students as well, has a duty to be available to ALL students and to assist in matters/concerns that may affect these students outside of the Faculty of Law but within the University of the West Indies.
  • Furthermore, please click the following link to the Law Society Faculty Accessible Google Drive


2021/2022 Executive Composition

President & Faculty of Law Representative

Hiran A Rampersad

Guild Law Representative:

1 (868) 292-0067

Vice- President

Kaazim Fleary

Office of the Vice-President:

1 (868) 326-9186


Ariana C. Ramnarine

Office of the Secretary:

1 (868) 782-3806


Candice Ramkhelawan

Standing Finance Committee:

1 (868) 798-5470

Public Relations Officer

Nia Subero

Office of the Public Relations Officer:

1(868) 360-9015

Constitutional Committee Chairperson

Dareem Scipio

Constitution Committee:

1(868) 283-2419

Charity and Outreach Committee Chairperson

Dominique Assim

Charity & Outreach Committee:

1(868) 330-0139

Education and Moot Committee Chairperson

Alexandra Ghany

Education & Moot Committee:

1(868) 343-9721

Entertainment Committee Chairperson

Aniko Sookoo

Entertainment Committee:

1(868) 383-2157

Regional & International StudentS Committee Chairperson

Jodi Pott

Regional & International Students Committee:

1 (501) 615-0935

Publications Committee Chairperson

Watscia Duke

Publications Committee:

1(868) 753-9064

Sports Committee Chairperson

Enrique Singh

Sports Committee:

1(868) 371-9896

Returning Officer

Mya Layne

Office of the Returning Officer:

1(868) 788-7641

Assistant Secretary

Leanna Lutchman

Office of the Secretary:

1(868) 480-4674

Deputy Returning Officer

Jaliyah Clarke

Office of the Returning Officer:

1(868) 758-0431


Alanna Mahabirsingh

Standing Finance Committee:

1(868) 771-3967

Assistant Trustee

Sascha Lohr

Standing Finance Committee:

1(868) 393-5847

Independent Officer SFC

Tiffany Balkissoon

Standing Finance Committee:

1(868) 327-1158

Year 1 Class Representative

Zion Benjamin

1(868) 281-8002

Year 2 Class Representative

Dylan Kalloo

1(868) 335-0069

Year 3 Class Representative

Tracey Seales

1(868) 681-6984



Top of Page