The Faculty of Social Sciences is the largest Faculty in the University of the West Indies comprising four (4) departments including– the Department of Behavioural Sciences, the Department of Economics, the Department of Management Studies, and the Department of Political Science. There are also several Units and Centres that are affiliated with the faculty such as the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute for Social and Economic Studies (SALISES), Institute of International Relations (IIR), Institute for Gender and Development Studies (IGDS), the HEU/Centre for Health Economics, the ANSA Mc Al Psychological Research Centre, the Trade and Economic Development Unit (TEDU) and the Entrepreneurship Unit.

Our Vision is to be social engaged, and solutions oriented. It is our desire that students who are part of this Faculty become deep thinkers and creators of solutions that can affect and change increasing societal challenges. We seek to realise this vision by focusing on lifelong learning for sustainable impact. We encourage our students to focus on academic excellence, and we also ensure that we produce well-rounded individuals who are able to build and sustain healthy relationships with peers, employers, employees and the wider community.

Top of Page