The Department of Sociology was established in the early 1960s, after the 1996/1997 academic year, restructuring of the department led to the establishment of a new Department of Behavioural Sciences. Sociology therefore is a well-established academic discipline offering programmes both at the undergraduate and postgraduate levels. The number of courses available in the discipline and the choice of postgraduate programmes, give an indication of its formidable presence on the St. Augustine Campus. Of the many persons who have passed through the hands of our highly trained and dedicated academic staff many have gone on to post graduate work and others are gainfully employed within the public and private sectors of local and foreign companies.

The standards of performance expected from Sociology students are high as the Unit seeks to follow closely the guiding principles set out in the University and the Campus Mission Statement, one of which is to make the University of the West Indies a premium research institution.

Programmes Offered


Academic Staff


Top of Page