IIR's Governance Structure

Governance Structure

The governance of the Institute is vested in the Board of the Institute, which is chaired by The UWI Vice-Chancellor. The management of the Institute rests with the Director, who is responsible to the Board for the proper discharge of its functions. 

The board comprises: the Vice-Chancellor of the University who serves as its Chair; two persons appointed by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago; the Secretary-General of Caricom and the Director-General of the OECS; the Principal of the St. Augustine Campus of The UWI; a UWI representative appointed by the Vice-Chancellor; a representative of the Graduate Institute of International Studies in Geneva; two persons appointed by the Board from among distinguished scholars from within or outside of the Caribbean region and specially invited persons.


Members of the Board

Professor Sir Hilary Beckles
Vice-Chancellor, The University of The West Indies

Professor Rose-Marie Belle Antoine
Pro Vice-Chancellor and Campus Principal, The UWI, St. Augustine

Professor Emeritus Vaughan Lewis
Lewis Chambers

Dr. Acolla Lewis-Cameron
Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, The UWI, St. Augustine

Professor Hariharan Seetharaman
Director, Graduate Studies and Research, The UWI, St. Augustine

Mrs. Coreen Copland-Campbell
Director, Human Resources Division, The UWI, St. Augustine

His Excellency Irwin LaRocque
Secretary-General, Caribbean Community Secretariat

Her Excellency Donna Forde
Assistant Secretary-General, Foreign and Community Relations, Caribbean Community Secretariat

Ms. Reita Toussaint
Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs, Government of Trinidad and Tobago

Mrs. Lenore Baptiste-Simmons
Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Government of Trinidad and Tobago

Dr. Didacus Jules
Director-General, Organization of Eastern Caribbean States

Dr. Annita Montoute
IIR Staff Representative

Ms. Marie-Laure Salles
Director, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva

Mrs. Andrea Taylor-Hanna
Campus Bursar, The UWI, St. Augustine

Director, Institute of International Relations

Ms. Wenda Rocke
Senior Administrative Assistant and Secretary to the Board, Institute of International Relations


IIR Annual Reports











The UWI Quality Policy

Access it here.

Top of Page