The Faculty of Science & Agriculture (FSA) was formed in 1996 by a merger of the former Faculties of Agriculture and Natural Sciences.  The former developed from the Imperial College of Tropical Agriculture, which merged with the University in 1960. The FSA was demerged in 2012 and the Faculties of Food & Agriculture and Science & Technology (FST) were established.


The FST consists of five departments:

  1. Chemistry;
  2. Computing & Information Technology;
  3. Mathematics & Statistics;
  4. Life Sciences and
  5. Physics.


Undergraduate degree programmes are offered in the areas of Computer Science; Software Engineering; Physics, Information Technology; Computer Science & Management; Chemistry & Management; Actuarial  Science; Mathematics, Environmental Science & Sustainable Technology; Biomedical Technology; Statistics and Economics; Biology with specializations; Chemistry. At the postgraduate level the FST offers a post-graduate diploma in Biodiversity Conservation and Sustainable Development in the Caribbean, taught M.Sc degrees are offered in Computer Science & Technology with specializations in Cloud Technology and Mobile Computing; Mathematics; Statistics; Occupational and Environmental Safety and Health; Biodiversity Conservation and Sustainable Development in the Caribbean; Renewable Energy Technology; Biotechnology; Biomedical Physics; Data Science. M.Phil and Ph.D degrees are offered in Biochemistry; Chemistry; Computer Science; Environmental Biology; Mathematics; Microbiology; Physics; Plant Science; Statistics; Zoology.


The National Herbarium of Trinidad and Tobago is also housed in the Faculty.


Click here for Past Stories in the Faculty.

Top of Page